top of page


According to the California Department of Real Estate (DRE), below are the requirements to obtaining a California Real Estate Salesperson License


To obtain a real estate salesperson license, you must first qualify for and pass a written examination. Those who pass the examination are provided a license application which must be submitted to and approved by the DRE.  This license is required of individuals who conduct licensed real estate activities as described in the Real Estate Law under the supervision of a licensed broker. A license may also be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, a salesperson without an responsible broker may not perform acts requiring a real estate license.


Age: You must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license.

Residence: If you are not a California resident, see Out-of-State Applicants.

Honesty: Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant's entire history may also result in the denial of a license. 

Education:  You must complete a minimum of three (3) statutorily required college-level courses. 


  • Real Estate Principles
  • Real Estate Practice (SB 1495 Compliant)


Pick one (1) of the following courses.  However, some previously completed three semester unit, four quarter unit, or higher college classes may count toward your elective course (e.g., Accounting, Business Law, or Economics).

  • Property Management
  • Escrow
  • Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
  • Legal Aspects of Real Estate
  • Real Estate Finance
  • Real Estate Appraisal
  • Real Estate Economics
  • Business Law

If you would like more information, please contact a representative or the California Department of Real Estate.


The Work Smarter, Not Harder Method


Our qualified instructors teach students exactly what to know and how to know it to pass the exam on the first try!  Thus, our exam preparation video, live classes, and workbook are categorized into seven conceptual areas - just like the state exam.  We teach the material in a logical and meaningful format so students are able to make the differentiation between terms and concepts.   By doing so, students retain the necessary information and pass the state exam on their first try!

Statutory Course Completion Time Limits (per home study statutory course) = Minimum 18 days, Maximum 1 year.


State Exam Preparation

bottom of page