Statutory Course Completion Time Limits (per home study statutory course) = Minimum 18 days, Maximum 1 year.
To obtain a real estate broker license, you must first qualify for and pass a written examination. Those who pass the examination are provided a license application which must be submitted to and approved by the DRE.
Age: You must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license.
Residence: If you are not a California resident, see Out-of-State Applicants.
Honesty: Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant's entire history may also result in the denial of a license.
Experience: A minimum of two years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last five years (or equivalent) or a four year college degree with a major or minor in Real Estate.
Education: You must complete a minimum of eight (8) statutorily required college-level courses.
Real Estate Practice
Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Real Estate Finance
Real Estate Appraisal
Real Estate Economics
Pick three (3) from the following. However, some previously completed three semester unit, four quarter unit, or higher college classes may count toward elective courses (e.g., Accounting, Business Law, or Economics).
Real Estate Principles
Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
If you would like more information, please contact the California Department of Real Estate.
Popular Broker Pre-Licensing Packages
5006 Sunrise Blvd #101
Fair Oaks, CA 95628
Tel: (916) 966-9300
Fax: (916) 966-9305
Saturday & Sunday Closed